The Pioneer Trails Region has forty (40) incorporated cities within its four counties. Addresses and contact information are shown via each of the county page links. Johnson County is the largest county comprised of 830.4 square miles but Lafayette County, with 629.3 square miles, has the largest number of municipalities. The Cities of Alma, Bates City, Concordia, Corder, Higginsville, Lake Lafayette, Lexington, Mayview, Napoleon, Odessa, Waverly and Wellington, the Village of Aullville, and the Town of Dover, are located in Lafayette County. Lexington serves as the county seat. The population density for Lafayette County is 53.0 persons per square mile.

Johnson County is home to the Cities of Centerview, Holden, Kingsville, Knob Noster, Leeton, Warrensburg, the Town of Chilhowee, and Whiteman Air Force Base with Warrensburg serving as the county seat. The population density of Johnson County is the largest in the region (63.3).

Pettis County has the second largest population density (61.6) in the four county region but has the smallest number of communities. The Town of Ionia, the Cities of Green Ridge, Houstonia, LaMonte, Sedalia, Smithton and the Village of Hughesville are all located in Pettis County. Sedalia is the county seat. Pettis County covers 684.8 square miles.

Saline County is the second largest county when measured by square miles (755.6) but has the smallest population density at 30.9 persons per square mile. Saline county communities include: the Towns of Arrow Rock, Malta Bend, and Mount Leonard, and the Village of Grand Pass, and the Cities of Blackburn, Emma, Gillam, Marshall, Miami, Nelson, Slater and Sweet Springs. Marshall serves as the county seat.